top of page



VDRPT Amtrak Station.jpg

In 1992, the United States Department of Transportation designated the Southeast Corridor (SEC) as one of the five Federally designated rail corridors in the United States. The Commission was established and had its inaugural meeting in mid-November of 2019 and consists of executive level members from the Departments of Transportation in DC, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Georgia, and Florida.


The Commission meets quarterly to broaden the geographic footprint, align freight and passenger interests of the southeast states, and position the corridor to receive direct federal funding. To stand up the Commission, Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) obligated a $1M grant to NCDOT. 

The SEC Commission is comprised of members from each of the seven SEC states and their commission member proxies and technical committee members. Non-voting representatives are also able to participate, currently there are several representatives at the Federal Railroad Administration (FRA). 

bottom of page